A Scarlatti: Nel silentio commune di notte si tranquilla

Cantata à voce sola con stromenti d’arco
Forces: soprano, 2 violins, viola & basso continuo

A great work based on the Petrarchan theme of the lover who sighs alone while nature sleeps. Beginning with a hushed recitative accompagnato, the cantata has a total of 4 recitatives and arias, portraying the lover's brightly-coloured dream of love returned. A handwritten version of this edition was premiered memorably in the 1980s by tenor Nigel Rogers for the BBC, with the Taverner Players

Range: d'-a''

Source: British Library, London

Editor: Rosalind Halton

  • Availability: In Stock

Write Review

Note: Do not use HTML in the text.